A Day In My Life in 2030 by Onuzurike Chukwuagozie

--

A Day In My Life in 2030

“Do let me know should you need anything” said the air hostess. I looked up and nodded ok to her. Aside her sharp dress and nice figure, she was wearing this smile that I think was very peculiar to them on this particular flight: Delta Airlines in Los Angeles, USA.

There was this inner joy that radiated with an outward smile. I would have looked stupid if you had seen me at this moment, as its unusual seeing a sane person smiling all to himself for almost a minute in a first class suite. I wouldn’t blame anyone who will have such thought but like “thinking out loud”, I was “smiling out loud”.

The flight was due for departure at 06:00 GMT. Earlier, I had called my sweetheart before boarding the plane and was glad we would be spending the weekend together with our cute son. We were so fond of each other that that was the 100th time we spoke before I received the prestigious Oscar award the night before: Best Cinematographer for the Movie; Eden of Arabia.

As I relaxed back to my seat, the events of yesterday were still very fresh. The date was the 15th of November, 2030; funny enough, it was a Friday, first time an Oscar would be held on this day against its previous tradition of being held on a Saturday.

The time was 05:25 GMT when the taxi that picked me up from the airport pulled up. I paid the taxi driver and watched as he zoomed off like he had another passenger to pick up. Standing magnificently before me was Hollywood Crystal hotel. One of the ‘top top’ 5 star hotels in Los Angeles and very close to Dolby Theatre, the venue for the Oscar awards that will be held later in the day. Many fellow nominees were also known to have lodged here. Everything was looking very shiny and radiated class. Within me, I smiled and shouted “their fada, na me be this”

I allowed my sweetheart to make this reservation sometimes in late September when the list of Nominees were first broadcasted live to the whole world. She had this ‘thing’ in her that always directs her to selecting the best of the best. I tried boycotting her once and doing it my way, as she can spend the whole day looking for the perfect choice, but the experience was terrible even after paying huge hotel bills. Until I left Hollywood Crystal hotel, I never regretted a minute. From the warm reception at the front desk, the swift services of the porter, to the prompt response of room service, then the food was also too good, even though they did not offer continental dishes where I would have happily requested for Pounded Yam and serious bitter leaf soup. In fact I would say this hotel should be rated 8 star from the 5 star it is known for.

It was few minutes past 08:00 GMT when I checked into my hotel room. It had that posh touch you will expect from any hotel in its range. “Thank you”, I smiled at the porter who brought my luggage in. He looked smart as he walked briskly out of the room, closing the door behind him. Unpacking my stuff brought back to my consciousness the reason for the “season”. The beauty of the hotel got me carried away. As I lay on the executive bed, exhausted from jet lag and recalled how it all started. Did it actually start?

Well the truth was that I had this flare for great design and computers, right from my university days. Didn’t have access to computers before then. At a point it seems I was into everything: from web design to photo editing, video editing, animation, and programming. But the thing that got me going was that craving to know more, to do more, and to become better. And as one of my mentor will say on discovering your God given potential, “if you are doing many things, keep on it, you will surely find your calling in one of them someday’. It was not until I met Mr. Seun Akisanmi, a professional photographer/cinematographer than I was taught the art and grew in confidence. From Camera handling, lighting, video editing to other technical aspects of Cinematography. Before now, I had seen and appreciated the works of the world best all time Cinematographers. John Mathieson (Gladiators), Luca Bigazzi (La grande) and knew I can also attain such heights.

I started with covering events, making documentaries and then working on several featured Nollywood home videos. Nigeria was tough but I kept pushing. The project that brought me to prominence was “Izagu: the unique”. It won the best motion picture award in Nigeria’s’ prestigious movie awards. The year was March, 2020.

National geography later hired me same year to shoot some couple of documentaries in war torn Iraq, then later in Somalia. These projects were executed successfully and they have been featured severally in CNN’s program; Crimes of War. It lasted until 2023 when suddenly Aeron Ramsey showed up. He was the renowned and respected world best director of the trending action thriller at that time: Redemption Valley. When my agent mentioned this to me, I gladly accepted the offer. And since then, I have not looked back. Notwithstanding, God was involved.

It was not easy leaving my family behind in pursuit of a professional career in US soil. My ever supporting sweetheart could not hold back the tears the night I broke the news to her. She was almost due for our second baby. Our first child, Kamsi, was 2 years old then. I promised to always call and visit home and she was surprised when I told her I will be back a week before she put to bed. Welcome Chimdike.

The first work we did together, Latent Force (May, 2025), didn’t perform very well in the market, grossed only $16million. We went on to produce 2 more works which got nominated in several categories including the best cinematography: Every woman (2027), and then this last one that eventually earned me the Oscars, Eden of Arabia (2029).

“Get up and be ready”, I said to myself as I regained consciousness. The thoughts from the years before made me lay on that bed for almost 5 hours. I slept and woke up severally, probably. I rushed to take a warm shower and felt better afterwards.The time was 15:00 GMT. I read through my “thank you” speech, which had not changed since the last nomination, 2 years ago. I think every other nominee does this. Several will be nominated in same category, but only one will be chosen. I remembered the case of Helen Clark who won the award for the best actress in a supporting role in 1956. She just kept on mumbling what I would call “stuffs” for a whopping 7 minutes. Very boring you will say.

By 16:00, the limo that will eventually take me to the venue had pulled up just in front of the hotel. We drove off and arrived at the venue to be welcomed to the red carpet. It was bubbling with a hive of paparazzi trying to subdue each other in their quest to take the best shots. The choice of cloth for the ladies were very daring, what a typical African will describe as a disrespect to womanhood. I chatted with a few professionals in the industry. It was at this point that I bumped into Mr. Seun Akinsanmi. “It has been ages”, he said. He told me how proud he was with my accomplishments and I later learnt he will be one of the presenters.

The Oscars officially started at 19:00 GMT and was hosted by Nkata Jimmy. He was just perfect; from the jokes he cracked to the response of the audience made the atmosphere very lively. I remembered laughing so hard till tears came out. Each instance at the Oscars was just fun. Some artistes performed at intervals and eventually, it was time to call out the winners in different categories.

The presenter that introduced the award to the best in cinematography was yours truly Mr. Seun Akinsanmi. He has indeed grown to become a renowned figure in the film industry, both in Nigeria and the US. “And the award for best in Cinematography goes to”, he paused and looked around, creating this tense atmosphere, I could feel my heart skip a bit, “Onuzurike Chukwuagozie”. I was a bit confused or should I say speechless. What helped me was the several rehearsal I did in my hotel room should a situation like this arise. I almost ran out, hugged him, and collected the award. My speech was very brief, didn’t remember to read from the prepared one tucked in my jacket.

“Hello, is everything ok with you?” the sound of this voice echoed as I was awaken from what looked like a trance. It was then I noticed the same hostess, standing beside me with that smile. My eyes was filled with tears, don’t know if I would call it tears of joy or…whatever tears it was, I knew it tasted salty…ha-ha. “I’m good”, I replied as I wiped my face with a handkerchief. By now, the plane was already on its way, headed back home, Nigeria.

Success comes in different dimensions, to me, it came this day in 2030 when I received the award for the best in Cinematography. I have conquered the world!

How powerful can fiction be 😃. I believe I can do anything I set my heart to. My Name is Onuzurike Chukwuagozie, a sudden Fictiongrapher…hahaha

Onuzurike Chukwuagozie Profile

Onuzurike Chukwuagozie
+2347035199394
Content Creator | Digital Marketer | Web Developer | E-commerce Enthusiast

“always create, don’t compete”
Touching Lives through creativity. Adding more value!

--

--

Onuzurike "TouchingLives" Chukwuagozie

A Facebook marketing Expert Who Helps Small Businesses make more sales using the power of digital marketing. I love creating related content as this.